The Top Profiles on Linkedin to Learn From

Latest Update: February 08, 2013

Retweet This Page: Often I get asked what are the best practices in creating a compelling Linkedin Profile. My answer is that it depends on the target audience. Are you aiming to get hired or are you aiming to build a large network.

Did you ever wanted to know how attractive your profile is compared to others. Here is the opportunity for you to do an anonymous benchmark against other linkedin profiles.

Please fill out these 6 questions anonymous survey: How attractive is my Linkedin Profile ?.

Here is already a list that I compiled.

NEW:

My Part in LinkedIn’s 200 Million Member Milestone

linkedin.com

Hurray! I have one of the top 1% most viewed @LinkedIn profiles for 2012. http://www.linkedin.com/pub/profile/1/040/20b?trk=200li

New: Lindsey Pollak. The Global Spokesperson for Linkedin. She is an author, consultant, speaker and recognized expert on next generation career and workplace trends.

Chris Brogan The leading expert on social media and trust.

Dan Schawbel The leading expert on personal branding.

1) Guy Kawasaki Profile is the most visited on Linkedin. Guy recieved advise from Linkedin on his Profile makeover

2) Olivier Taupin. He is the founder of the largest group in Linkedin: Linkedin HR.

3) Ron Bates is the most connected person on Linkedin

4) Steven Burda has received the most recommendations on Linkedin.

5) Peter Palme: Consulted well known Headhunters for his profile makeover

6) Jason Alba – who wrote the must have book: I’m on LinkedIn–Now What??? (Second Edition): A Guide to Getting the Most Out of LinkedIn

Following a list compiled by Deb Dib Executive Coach of exellent Linkedin in Profiles: http://www.job-hunt.org/executive-job-search/linkedin-for-executives.shtml

7) Mark Beckford

8 )Paul Mullen

9) Meg Guiseppi

10) Paul Copcutt

11) Deb Dib

12) David Nesbitt

13) Mark Treshock

Please keep sending interesting profiles to share.

14) Paul Smith: His underlying thoughts when creating his profile where:

“As someone with a strong visual preference I decided to structure information about my job experience into 3 sections for each job:

* “Soundbite” type headline

* Contextual descrition about the job – to set the context for the * points

* Bullet points / achievements – trying to keep the * to the line….. ”

15) Another excellent profile I have just viewed is from Peter Osborne
http://www.linkedin.com/in/peterosborne1
He puts great emphasis on the catch line in the title – what is your true intend or mission instead of the job position and second he emphasizes his contribution  in his summary – what he can do for the viewer of his profile.

A different view is:

Stop Using 16 Terms to Describe Yourself
Jeff Haden uses a great example and describes in his articles 16 terms not use anymore:

“Picture this. You meet someone new. “What do you do?” she asks.

“I’m an architect,” you say.

“Oh, really?” she answers. “Have you designed any buildings I’ve seen?”

“Possibly,” you reply. “We did the new student center at the university…”

“Oh wow,” she says. “That’s a beautiful building…”

Without trying — without blowing your own horn — you’ve made a great impression.

Now picture this. You meet someone new. “What do you do?” he asks.

“I’m a passionate, innovative, dynamic provider of architectural services with a collaborative approach to creating and delivering outstanding world-class client and user experiences.”

All righty then.

Do you describe yourself differently – on your website, promotional materials, or especially on social media – than you do in person? Do you use cheesy clichés and overblown superlatives and breathless adjectives?

Do you write things about yourself you would never have the nerve to actually say?”

WorldBest

.

Join the Group: World’s Best Business Schools on Linkedin

As I am a big believer in the wisdom of the crowds I created a rating site for Linkedin Profiles on Google Moderator. Vote on any of the Profiles listed plus submit your own suggestions and spread the word to the crowd. Let’s see who are the role models of the best linkedin profiles.

Rate Linkedin Profiles

I am looking for the profile with the most calls from headhunters in the last 6 to 12 month. Please leave a comment or submit to the rating site.

If you need me as a coach for your profile makeover join me on the Online Time Exchange Network.

Recommended Readings:

Lynch, C.G.: How to Improve Your LinkedIn Profile: Stand Out to Employers, Recruiters

Alba, Jason: I’m on LinkedIn–Now What??? (Second Edition): A Guide to Getting the Most Out of LinkedIn

Vermeiren, Jan: How to REALLY use LinkedIn

Bill, Vick;Walsh, Des: Happy About LinkedIn for Recruiting (2nd Edition): The Roadmap for Recruiters using LinkedIn

Schawbel, Dan: Me 2.0: Build a Powerful Brand to Achieve Career Success

Brogan,Chris (NYT Bestseller): Trust Agents: Using the Web to Build Influence, Improve Reputation, and Earn Trust

Brogan,Chris: Make Your Linkedin Profile Work For You

The Fastest Ways To Learn Any New Language

Related Posts:

The Top Profiles on Linkedin to Learn From

Top 10 Largest Groups on Linkedin

Linkedin How to Hide Your Job Hunt From Your Current Employer ?

Linkedin Endorsements – Performance Indicator for the Attractiveness of Your Linkedin Profile

The Top Job Search Strategies on Linkedin

Is Linkedin helping you to find the next job or is it still a wishful thinking ?

12 Ways to Use LinkedIn Today

Top Eight Linkedin Learning Resources

My Alltop on Linkedin

Linkedin Profile – Free Best Practice Course on Udemy

My Learning Journey as manager of the Linked:HR EMEA group on Linkedin

Continuous Job & Career Development

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

12 Responses to “The Top Profiles on Linkedin to Learn From”

  1. Adam Says:

    This was very informative. A nice read.

  2. Sandy Blanes Says:

    Great role models and suggestions. Just what I wanted to see. Thanks.

  3. Maher Says:

    Nice, great content. I read some of your articles and loved them.
    Please keep the good work.

  4. Craig Pfister Says:

    Very nice. Great suggestions.

  5. Emmanuel Gonot Says:

    Thanks for sharing, got this from your Twitter DM. Definitely a big help as I build up my LinkedIn network of friends.

  6. Lina Conn aka ( Lissalei) Says:

    Hello thank you for the oppurtunity to read your profile information.
    I am presently at Creative Drawer, Lisslei,s Retreat, Renderosity,Twitter,
    ArtBistro, Lissalei,s blogspot.com, op[tusnet member linalei, and was at Deviant Art.
    I am well known on the internet, google lissalei or linalei, I find Twitter has not a lot of space for bios and I did not write the one on Twitter my partner did. I did the Artwork he did the Type.

    I was on Stumble.com, but time is the problem, I am in Australia, I am way out of Sync with the US, I start at Midnight every night, and I finish maye 12-15 hours later. I apreciate your information though, My wish for the New Year, is that the powers that be make each day 8 hours longer.
    Have a wonderful New Year, and once again thank you for your trouble to help.
    Lina

  7. Top 10 Largest Groups on Linkedin | Continuous Learning & Development Says:

    […] 7, 2010 3:55 pm In my last poll on Linkedin the top priority for the participants was Networking. One important part of networking which is very […]

  8. Peter Osborne Says:

    Hi, Peter…I don’t want to snipe, but I found your Profile — which you held out as a best-in-class — to be a bit lacking. IMHO, the headline should tell me what you can do for me, rather than list your job title and company (particularly when it’s not clear to me from that what you do).

    The Chris Brogans of the world can get away with titles because people who look at his profile know who he is and what he does or they searched on his name.

    I believe the Summary is a place to tell people who you are ALONG WITH what you do. I suspect you are a thought leader in this area but believe you could do a better job explaining why in your Summary. The LinkedIn profile should tell a prospective employer or business partner why you stand out from the rest of the herd. A few people may decide not to pursue you as a result (i.e., some aspect of your personality or skill set turns them off), but isn’t that better than finding that out later?

    I think your choices of other great Profiles were pretty strong. I’m just not sure that yours is ready to be in that group quite yet. But I’d be happy to work with you to get it to that point. Drop me a line.

    • ppalme Says:

      Hi Peter,

      Thanks a lot for your wonderful feedback.
      If you send me your link to your profile I would be very happy to add it to my post.

      Best regards,

      Peter

  9. Peter Osborne Says:

    I view mine as a constant work in progress and find it a challenge when your career has gone down a number of paths. These profiles also pose a separate challenge when you’re straddling the line between full-time job search and building a consulting business as either a new path (a portfolio career) or an audition strategy. That said, here you go: http://tinyurl.com/23sqfma.

    I certainly welcome your feedback too.

  10. Marcos Val Says:

    Thank you Peter, very interesting. Curious to see a single Europe based person in your list…to what extent you think it is a question of time exposure to linkedln (US as pioneer) or is it another cultural element Europe did not and will eventually embrace ?

    • ppalme Says:

      Excellent thought provoking question. There could be a cultural element to it. I have had an example where the european in general were more relectant to voice their opinions in comments section to an internal company blog compared to Americans and Asians. There is an European profile in the list – mine🙂.

Leave a Reply

